review: you are a writer (so start acting like one)


I am a voracious reader.  I’ve read thousands of books.  A few times in my life, I’ve found a book that changed my life. Jeff Goins’ You Are a Writer (So Start Acting Like One) falls into that category of “life changing.”  It is a rally cry to fulfill your destiny.  And a map to guide you once you submit to the adventure.

Jeff starts with a very basic premise.   “You are a writer.  You just need to write”.  So, write.  No excuses.  No second guessing.  Just sit down and write.

Jeff reminds us that every day a writer is born.  She is given words to share, words to change the world.  But not every writer fulfills her destiny.  They let fear and uncertainty stand in the way of sharing their message.  They fail to leave their legacy.

The world needs our words.  Needs our message.  It’s what we were born to do.  So how do we get there?  How do we fulfill our destiny?

Believe you already are what you want to be.  And then start acting like it.”

After rallying us to do what we were born to do, Jeff then takes us through the rest of the tools to becoming a successful writer:  a platform to share your work; a brand to build trust and channels to distribute your art.

I’ve been a writer since I picked up my first number two pencil.  I was a bright child who always finished her work before her classmates. In third grade, my insightful teacher let me use my spare time to write a play, a musical about bunnies.  Then she let me direct my classmates who performed my little play for the rest of the third graders.

This year, my lifelong compulsion to share my words became so strong, I started this blog.

I wonder how much further along on my writing journey I’d be if I’d had Jeff’s book twenty years ago.  If I’d had someone like Jeff around when I was an eight year old scribbling about singing bunnies.

It’s about falling back in love with your craft and building a platform, so you don’t have to pitch or sell yourself.  Instead, you can focus on what you were made to do:  write.”

Question:  What is your destiny?  Are you embracing it, or hiding from it?

One thought on “review: you are a writer (so start acting like one)

Tell me what you think! I can't wait to hear from you. :)

