i found my voice. are you willing to share yours?


Everyone experiences life in a way that makes us feel unique.  We are sure our hardships are harder, our joys more joyous, our pain more painful, than anyone else.  We are so embarrassed by our mistakes (or more often it seems, the mistakes of our partners), that we don’t talk about it.  Don’t share it with anyone else. We silence our voice.

We don’t realize our hardships prepare us to comfort others who are going through similar trials.

I have a friend who is the epitome of Sorority Girl.  She’s beautiful, talented and popular.  To the outside world, it looks like she has the perfect life.

subcutaneous abdomen injection for infertility treatment

I remember the day she confided in me that she and her husband were going through infertility treatment.  Hormone shots, acupuncture, meditation.  Miscarriages, failed treatments.

For women who get pregnant easily, her story is inconceivable.  Her confidences came after I shared my own infertility issues.  It took several years to conceive Sweetness.  I was in law school at the time, and the stress of infertility tests combined with law school exams was more than I could take.

I’m one of the lucky ones.  Sweetness came along in her own good time, and she’s been moving along on her own sweet time ever since.

My friend and her husband eventually conceived as well.  They have a beautiful little boy now.

young woman suffering from postpartum depression

After his birth, my friend endured the worst case of postpartum depression (PPD) I’ve ever seen.  She bravely chose to seek treatment.  She left her husband and the son she’d waited for, wanted, dreamt of for so long, because she knew she couldn’t stay and get well.

Thanks to successful treatment and doctors who got it, thanks to her braveness in standing up and admitting she had a problem and needed treatment, she saved herself.

As quiet as she was about infertility, she now proudly uses her voice to reach out to other women suffering from PPD.

Everyone has a story.  As much as we want to think we are unique, we really aren’t.

While we are going through hardship and misery, we don’t have the energy or desire to seek out someone to help us.

After we’re through the storm, we have a choice.  Keep silent.  Or use our voice to help someone else.

What’s your story?  If you’re like most of us, you have many stories to share.  Each story represents someone you can help.  Because you survived.  You’re on the other side.

lighthouse beacon shining in the distance

The question is:  Are you brave enough to share it?  Will you use your story to help someone else?  Will you stand tall and be a beacon, a bright light in the darkness, to lead others through the rocky waters of life?

If you are brave enough to share your story, you will always find someone who needs to hear it.  Your story may not resonate with everyone, but it will resonate with someone.

Whether your story reaches the masses, or just one or two people, you will make a difference in someone’s life.  But only if you are brave enough to let your voice be heard.

This blog is my voice.  It tells my story of forgiveness, my search for balance.  It shares my struggle with heartache and my search for a new soulmate.  I hope I tell it with grace and humor.  I hope my healing brings comfort to someone else.

Question:  Are you willing to use your voice to comfort someone else? Have you been comforted by someone else who is willing to share their story?

Tell me what you think! I can't wait to hear from you. :)

